First blog post

Hello to all!


My name is Heather and I would like to welcome you all to my blog! This is the first post, so let me introduce myself.


I am a young woman living in Canada, where I work as a wine steward. I have recently started out my life on my own and I’m learning to “adult,” so to speak.Β That alone may sound like an interesting and blog-worthy life, but I have many other interests that occupy my life outside of work. My other passions are in making things with fiber and from scratch, such as foods and skin care.Β 


Most of my interests stem from my upbringing. My parents instilled a love of creating, an intense curiosity, and a desire to make things from scratch and in an eco-friendly manner. When I was much younger, I did not have the patience for any fiber crafts or cooking; I detested any activity that made me stop moving. But I remained and encouraged my curiosity to grow, becoming an education hungry and insatiably curious individual. Over time, my interests shifted and I looked to alter my home life. I wanted to improve my cooking skills, eventually leading to my love of baking, jamming, and making any food I can imagine from scratch. When my fridge and shelves filled, I turned to making my own skin care products, such as body butters and lip balms. A girl can only have so many tubs of moisturizer and lip balms before she needs yet another hobby. That’s when fiber came into my life. Knitting has quickly become my favourite hobby and I pick up my sticks almost every single day. It is a constant challenge in patience and focus, as well as an exercise in creativity! I’m slowly learning how to design my own patterns and have already published one (Tulips in Moss Hat on Ravelry).

For more of my adventures, please follow me on Instagram at acornsandoakleaves !

Leave a Reply

